Secret Life of Walter Mitty

I. Love. This. Movie. It’s about a guy who always daydreams that his life is better than it actually is. It’s hilarious and really uplifting, honestly.

One of my favorite parts in the entire movie is when Walter finally gets to the elusive photographer (he’s look for a missing negative) who is sitting on a snowy mountain, waiting for a snow leopard to show itself.

the_secret_life_of_walter_mitty_movie_review

The snow leopard shows up and the photographer doesn’t click his shutter. This is the dialogue:

Walter Mitty: When are you going to take it?

Sean O’Connell: Sometimes I don’t. If I like a moment, for me, personally, I don’t like to have the distraction of the camera. I just want to stay in it.

Walter Mitty: Stay in it?

Sean O’Connell: Yeah. Right there. Right here.

The snow leopard walks away. It’s such a powerful moment because in this world, we have to capture everything. Yes, I am all for taking photos of memories to never forget them, but most of the time, it takes you out of the actual moment.

I love that this character, Sean, reminds Walter (and the viewers) that sometimes you just need to sit and enjoy the moment. No camera. Just the moment.

What do you think?

-Syd

 

Leave a Reply

