Penumbral Lunar Eclipse

Alright my space nerds, this weekend we had the amazing opportunity to see a penumbral lunar eclipse, which is when the Earth casts a shadow on a small section of the moon, making it appear darker than normal.

In the Tri-City area of Tennessee, it was difficult to see the eclipse because of the thin layer of clouds that reflected a lot of light and made the moon much brighter than it was. But with the power of a camera, I manipulated the way the moon looked. If only I had a Nikon with the 2000mm zoom lens (it can see the surface of the moon in high detail!).

 

img_1084
Aperture: f/18, ISO: 3200, Shutter Speed: 1/4000 sec., 300mm zoom

It was so difficult to get a shot that the shadow was seen. This is one of few where the curve of the Earth is slightly visible. I wish I could have gotten much closer, but I was limited to this distance.

img_1022
Aperture: f/5.6, ISO: 1600, Shutter Speed: 1/640 sec., 300mm zoom

The moon is out of focus on purpose for this photo. I wanted to have the silhouette of the fence and tree to show up better against the bright moon. This doesn’t show the eclipse well though because the moon was just coming up over the hill. I also don’t want to show photos of the moon in an all black background. That’d be too boring.

IMG_1081.JPG
Aperture: f/16, ISO: 3200. Shutter Speed: 1/4000 sec., 300mm zoom

Bare with me because I know this isn’t a clear photo since I cropped it (I cut out a lot of unneeded black space, which is why cropping is so useful), but I wanted to have a closer shot. It’s tough when you don’t have a lens with a long range zoom, but thankfully the images my camera are larger files so I didn’t lose that much when I cropped it.

And as fuzzy as the line may be, you can definitely see the Earth’s shadow on that left side there. Of course, that side of the moon is dark anyway because of the Maria (the dark spots on the moon), but there is an unusual shadow on the surface.

I hope my fellow nerds got to enjoy the cool space events on Friday and will continue to throughout the rest of the year. I also hope that I’ll catch more of those awesome events and share them through photos.

Thanks for reading!

-Syd

Leave a Reply

